Women’s Prize for Fiction 2023 shortlist announced: big names and debuts

Women’s Prize for Fiction 2023 shortlist announced: big names and debuts

by Suswati Basu

The Women’s Prize for Fiction 2023 shortlist has been announced, with three debut novels among the six titles. The winner will be announced on 13 June 2023.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction 2023 shortlisted novels are:

  • Black Butterflies by Priscilla Morris
  • The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’Farrell
  • Pod by Laline Paull
  • Fire Rush by Jacqueline Crooks
  • Demon Copperhead by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Trespasses by Louise Kennedy

The judges, chaired by Louise Minchin, said: “We were blown away by the quality of the longlist this year, and it was incredibly difficult to narrow it down to six. The shortlisted novels are all beautifully written and thought-provoking, and we are delighted to have them on the shortlist.”

Watch the shortlisted authors speak about their novels as part of the Women’s Prize for Fiction event

Minchin’s fellow judges are the novelist Rachel Joyce, journalist, podcaster and writer Bella Mackie, novelist and short story writer Irenosen Okojie and Labour MP Tulip Siddiq.

Following the announcement, Laline Paull expressed her heartfelt thanks for being shortlisted.

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is an annual award for the best fiction novel written by a woman. The prize was founded in 1996 by the organizer of the Orange Prize for Fiction, which was rebranded as the Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2013. The winner of the prize receives £30,000 and a specially commissioned limited-edition bronze figurine of a woman reading.

Remember to check out the International Booker Prize shortlist and Rathbones Folio Prize winners. Check out Irenosen Okojie’s work from the Jaipur Literature Festival.

Subscribe to my newsletter for new blog posts, recommendations & episodes. Let’s stay updated!

You may also like


Women's Prize for Fiction authors on storytelling in their shortlisted novels - How To Be... August 8, 2023 - 6:23 am

[…] Women's Prize for Fiction is now a charity with the goal of honouring exceptional writing by women authors in English from […]

Barbara Kingsolver books: author has moment in sun with incredible awards run - How To Be... August 9, 2023 - 2:43 pm

[…] book is also currently shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Orwell Prize for Political Fiction, and Oprah Book Club pick. At a time when the region has […]

Black to the Future festival: a journey into Afrofuturism - How To Be Books October 19, 2023 - 5:34 pm

[…] where visionary imaginings can thrive. This event, curated, founded, and directed by the esteemed Irenosen Okojie MBE, in collaboration with the Royal Society of Literature and the British Library, promises to be a […]


Leave a Reply

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?